Celebrate NYR : Featured Reading Ambassador – Ms.Taryn Bates

Whitefriars

   National Year of Reading

Featured Ambassador

 Ms Taryn Bates

    What are you reading at the moment and why?

 I’m currently reading a few articles for my university course which are interesting but not that exciting to read. I am also reading ‘The Brain That Changes Itself’ as it’s psychology related & very interesting. I am also skimming through a few Lonely Planet Guides as well as I am planning a holiday.

    What are some of your favourite books and authors?  

My favourite books are: ‘The Book Thief’ by Markus Zusak, ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ by Khaled Hosseini & ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee.                                                                            

    Do you have a favourite film of a book?

I loved the Harry Potter books and I really like the movies – but they are not as good as the books.

    Do your ever cheat and read the end of the book first?

    Occasionally – if I’m worried about what could happen!!!

    Do you skim the boring bits or read every word?

Read every word – sometimes twice! Especially for my articles & readings for Uni, I have to go over what I’ve read as they can get confusing.

What was the last book you received as a gift?

I received some cook books for my birthday – I think they were a hint! I also received ‘We need to talk about Kevin’ by Lionel Shriver.

    Are you a constant reader or are there times when you don’t read at all?

I’m always reading – but not always for fun. I read lots of books for Uni for research and I read extensively for work. I usually read for fun in the holidays & when the term isn’t too busy.

    Which book is by your bedside right now?

‘The Brain That Changes Itself’ and ‘One Day’ by David Nicholls (I haven’t started that yet though!).

    If you could spend one day with your favourite book character, who would you choose?

Liesel from the ‘Book Thief’, Atticus Finch from ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ or one of the characters from ‘Winnie the Pooh’ – how cool would that be?!?

Thanks for sharing Ms Bates.

3 thoughts on “Celebrate NYR : Featured Reading Ambassador – Ms.Taryn Bates

  1. Pingback: The National Year of Reading at our College « Rhondda's Reflections – wandering around the Web

Leave a Reply

