Caught reading – Catherine Wells

 RECOMMENDATIONS/BOOK REVIEW                                                       (Staff, 7-9, 10-12)

Catherine Wells

What are you reading? I am currently reading What Lies Beneath – Book One of Caliban’s End by Paul Francis Stewart (former Whitefriars Staff member).

Why this book?  I had the privilege of reading parts of this book when it was in draft form, and have been waiting with much excitement for it to be published so I could read the finished product! Now that my marking is over for the year I am thoroughly enjoying reading it. I am a huge fan of fantasy writing. As I have been able to have a number of conversations with Paul about my favourite TV show ‘Buffy’, and some of my favourite novels including Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings, I knew that whatever he wrote, I would end up being a huge fan.

What’s it about? Many things….a strange and wonderful world…an array of interesting and unique characters…a mystery…

Has it lived up to your expectations? Yes! In that I am constantly being surprised and delighted by the story – I knew I was going to be impressed with the writing – and I have been!

Would you recommend it to others? Yes! Definitely! If you love reading fantasy you will love this novel. AND the author is from Melbourne!

Thankyou, Catherine, for sharing your reading with us.

You can read it here:

Or you might like to read it here along with Book 2. Paul’s site is a comprehensive and fascinating support for the stories.

Leave a Reply

