Caught reading – Mrs Crossman and Br Sean

RECOMMENDATIONS                                                                                                                (Staff, 7-9, 10-12)

Penny Crossman

eng%20The%20Guernsey%20Literary%20and%20Potato%20Peel%20Pie%20SocietyWhat are you reading?

I am reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.

Why that book?

I am reading it because the title intrigued me, and because it was highly recommended by a friend.

What’s it about?

It’s a bit along the lines of 84 Charing Cross Road in that it is in the form of letters. It is set in 1946 in England. Juliet was a writer of witty newspaper columns during the war, and these have been successfully published. She receives a letter from one Dawsey Adams in Guernsey as he has acquired a book she once owned and he wants her help to find more on the same subject, and that is the start of an ongoing correspondence. Dawsey is a member of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and soon other members write to Juliet too, telling about themselves and their stories of their lives under German occupation during the war.

Has it lived up to your expectations?

It is definitely living up to my expectations; I always want to read just one more letter!

Would you recommend it to others?

I have already recommended it to some friends and I think my copy will be doing the rounds as soon as I finish it. It is funny, warm, interesting and well-written – what more can you want? A book to enjoy!

If you’re interested in finding out more about this book, click here.

Br Sean Keefe

john_grishamWhat are you reading?

The Summons by John Grisham

Why that book?

I have enjoyed other books by the same author.

What’s it about?

Death of a father and trying to figure out where 3 million dollars came from.

Has it lived up to your expectations?

Finished it last night and the ending was a little weaker than I wanted.

Would you recommend it to others?

Good for light reading where one does not have to do much thinking.

If you’d like to know more about this book, click here.

Thankyou, Mrs Crossman and Br Sean, for sharing your reading with us.

3 thoughts on “Caught reading – Mrs Crossman and Br Sean

  1. I read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society during the last school holidays and just loved it. I wasn’t sure about the letter format when I first started reading, but it ended up being a fantastic way for the characters to reveal aspects of themselves and their stories (for better or worse, sometimes!). The book mixed laugh out loud humour with great poignancy, and I found the stories of the characters’ lives during the German occupation as well as after the war very engrossing. I couldn’t put the book down and was sad to finish it – which is always a good sign!

  2. Just finished this book and found it surprisingly delightful – my cover is unenticing (“Women’s Weekly, Great Read”)and the title itself is a tad off putting. But people whose opinion I trust loved it and so did I. Found most of the characters believable and endearing. Kit reminded me of my granddaughter, Juliet / Elizabeth (sort of reflections of each other,) were feisty young women and Dawsey’s quiet gentleness was appealing.Found the historical background informative and the normal Dr Christian was a relieving humane contrast to the nasty Nazis.

  3. I also have just finished reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.I thought it was great and would have loved to have read another book by Anne Scaffer, but sadly this will not be possible.
    I have a copy on my desk if any one would like to borrow it.

Leave a Reply

