You are in for the ride of your life when you read…

The knife of never letting go by Patrick Ness. knife

Book 1 Chaos Walking trilogy

I loved this book and could not put it down until I had finished!   It is fast paced, well written and thought provoking. The story is told through the eyes of a young teenager Todd who believes that when his people came to the New World as settlers, they were exposed to a disease that killed all the women and made all men’s private thoughts audible, which is known as Noise.  And then one day, on the outskirts of town, he hears silence. Which is impossible in Prentisstown, or else the town’s been lying to him. And before you know it Todd is running for his life. The book also has one of the most wonderful and endearing dog characters I know. As you can see from the following extract it is a very different book both in its writing style and storyline. (and yes the spelling errors are meant to be there.)

“The first thing you find out when yer dog learns to talk is that dogs don’t got nothing much to say. About anything.

“Need a poo, Todd.”

“Shut up, Manchee.”

“Poo. Poo, Todd.”

“I said shut it.”

We’re walking across the wild fields south-east of town, those ones that slope down to the river and head on towards the swamp. Ben’s sent me to pick him some swamp apples and he’s made me take Manchee with me, even tho we all know Cillian only bought him to stay on Mayor Prentiss’s good side and so suddenly here’s this brand new dog as a present for my birthday last year when I never said I wanted any dog, that what I said I wanted was for Cillian to finally fix the fissionbike so I wouldn’t have to walk every forsaken place in this stupid town, but oh, no, happy birthday, Todd, here’s a brand new puppy, Todd, and even tho you don’t want him, even tho you never asked for him, guess who has to feed him and train him and wash him and take him for walks and listen to him jabber now he’s got old enough for the talking germ to set his mouth moving? Guess who?”

Winner of :

  • 2008 Guardian children’s fiction Prize
  • 2008 Booktrust Teenage Prize
  • 2008 James Tiptree Jr. Prize

 Shortlisted for:

  • 2009 Carnegie Medal
  • 2009 Brandford Boase Award

 Read a review from Blogcritics here

        Here is a comment from a fan on the Patrick Ness website

Alex said:

Mr. Ness

Of all of the books I have read in the past couple of years (and that list is quite a long one), yours is the best, most emotional and thought provoking that I have ever seen. The Knife of Never Letting Go was, hands down, the best book I have ever read.

Your style was fresh and interesting in a time where many YA books just get the same old treatment. The future sequels (they can’t come fast enough) are instant additions to my bookshelf.

Thank you Mr. Ness, for reminding me what it is I read for, for showing me that it is possible to have new, inventive and creative ideas, and then to give them a solid literary backing.

Your fan after a single read,
Alex

One thought on “You are in for the ride of your life when you read…

  1. Pingback: Can’t get your hands on a copy of the Hunger Games? Then read these instead. « Fiction is like a box of chocolates…

Leave a Reply

