Celebrate NYR : Featured Reading Ambassador – Maowen Yip

Whitefriars

 National Year of Reading

Featured Ambassador

Maowen Yip

Year 10 E4

    What are some of your favourite books and authors?

Well the list could go on and on but I guess I’ll write my top three favourite authors. They would be Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman who wrote the Dragonlance Chronicles, Rick Riordan who wrote the Percy Jackson series and the Kane Chronicles series, and last but not least J.R.R Tolkien who wrote the Lord of the Rings series, with some amazing follow-ups of which “The Silmarillion” was the best. 

    Do you have a favourite film of a book?

My favourite film of a book would be all three films of the Lord of The Rings series.

    Do your ever cheat and read the end of the book first?

I have to admit that I do it most of the time because I cannot stand the suspense of having to read through the whole story.

    Do you skim the boring bits or read every word?

I usually read every word after trying to skip boring bits in the Lord of The Rings as I was totally lost for the majority of The Two Towers after trying to skip the boring bits.

    What was the last book you received as a gift?

The last book I received as a gift would be The Last Samurai book which was a pretty good movie.

    Are you a constant reader or are there times when you don’t read at all?

I’m a constant reader due to the fact that I pick up whichever book I find entertaining and start reading it.

    Which book is by your bedside right now?

The books by my bedside would be Darren Shan, Bleach, Naruto, Percy Jackson, and The Kane Chronicles.

    If you could spend one day with your favourite book character, who would you choose?

Um well there are many book characters that I fancy spending a day with however I find it pretty hard to choose one. However the one I would be most certain about would be Rosie from the Henderson’s Boys series.

 

Thanks for sharing Maowen.

One thought on “Celebrate NYR : Featured Reading Ambassador – Maowen Yip

  1. Pingback: Celebrate NYR : Featured Reading Ambassador – Maowen Yip | My National Year of Reading 2012 | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

